Like A Virgin Contest “Getting to Know You” blog hop!

A few weeks ago, I entered the Like a Virgin Pitch Contest, hosted by the lovely and talented Kristina Perez and Rhiann Wynn-Nolet. To my genuine surprise, I made it into Round One.

Being a virgin, I didn’t have a blog–until last night.

So, without further ado, here are my answers to the Like a Virgin “Getting to Know You” blog hop questions:

 

Q: How do you remember your first kiss?

A: I remember it very well, thank you.

 

Q: What was your first favorite love song?

A: Oh, dear. Now THIS will date me. After being dropped off from kindergarten carpool, I vividly remember exiting a Ford station wagon and singing at the top of my four year old lungs, Linda Ronstadt’s 1977 hit, It’s So Easy (To Fall In Love). My first teenage love song was INXS’ Never Tear Us Apart (1988). The song came out the summer before my 15th birthday.  Sitting on my parent’s basement floor, I saw the video on MTV, and I thought, hmmm, this would make a fantastic wedding song.  In 2000, my future husband agreed.

 

Q: What’s the first thing you do when you begin writing for the day?

A: The initial part of my writing process is a pre-writing brain warm-up. I get in a good 40 to 60 minute workout, either outside or at the gym. It’s when I do my best brainstorming.

 

Q: Who’s the first writer who truly inspired you to become a writer?

A: Actually, I wasn’t inspired by one particular writer. I was inspired by a movie and an experience. The movie was, The Highlander. The experience was a writing assignment in sixth grade English, because English teachers rock.

 

Q: Did the final revision of your first book have the same first chapter it started with?

A: No. I chopped the first 30 pages or so.

 

Q: For your first book, which came first: major characters, plot or setting?

A: Major characters.

 

Q: What’s the first word you want to roll off the tip of someone’s tongue when they think of your writing?

A: Motivational

 

**** And a shout out to Mara Rae at http://www.scribblebabble.blogspot.com/  whose linky link I copied and pasted because I am a blogger virgin and didn’t know how to do it. You are a rockstar!

 

http://www.linkytools.com/wordpress_list.aspx?id=229928&type=basic

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Like A Virgin Contest “Getting to Know You” blog hop!

  1. Louise Ross says:

    Congrats on your blog. I love the amoeba. I just wish I was that flexible in real life. Maybe adding my own 30-60 minute workout daily would help. Best of luck.

  2. Ha, well if we’re talking being “dated” I actually saw INXS in a small Boston club. Michael was in his long hair phase and wearing a gauzy white & tie-dye jumpsuit… Thanks for joining the blog hop and good luck with the contest!

  3. D M Evans says:

    I loved that song too by INXS. good luck with the contest and the new blog. (I’m cormerofmadness on this list)

  4. Kyra Nelson says:

    Motivational. Good choice. Seeing everyone’s answers to #7 has given me some great ideas.

  5. Love your answer to the first question! How sneaky and evasive, yet clever. I fear my blogging abilities will be severely tested shortly when I try to post my answers, but hopefully it will all go well. Good luck in the contest!

  6. PiccadillyPink says:

    My mom listened to Linda Ronstadt all the time. I loved that song. Oh, and I’ve always liked Highlander, too. 😉 Best of luck!

  7. Love your amoeba drawing,super cute and original. Loved INXS.
    great job for a first blog. There is so much to learn to create a platform! I find it a bit befuddling at times, like the linky thing.

    http://katloveswriting.blogspot.com

  8. Linda Ronstadt–how I loved her! Thanks for entering and good luck!

  9. You’re so smart to workout prior to a workout. I’m trying to get back into the habit of taking a run before I sit down to write, but it’s not the easiest thing to get motivated! ;p

  10. Long live INXS!

    You are now my hero because you’re the only writer I’ve “met” (does this count as meeting?) who works out prior to writing…or at all lol. Best of luck with #LV14!

  11. Connie MacElroy says:

    Love the workout. I recently read an article about walking (not running) and talking through story problems aloud. We learned as toddlers while moving and I think we still have the instincts to translate movement into creative work and learning.

    • Naomi says:

      I’ve always loved running, particularly through the National Forest near where I live. It gives me the kind of peace I can’t get from a treadmill. I concur about talking through story problems–particularly over a glass of wine with a trusted friend. Good luck in the contest!

  12. INXS! That is awesome. My brainstorming seems to come when I am trying to sleep. I try to write them down in the notepad I have by my bed. But…sometimes I just need sleep. Good luck!

  13. Sammy says:

    Your answer to number one made me laugh. And it’s so interesting how a movie inspired you to become a writer. I don’t hear that often. I must check out this film. Good luck! 🙂 And yes, English teachers most certainly rock!

Leave a Reply

